March is National Women’s History Month, an event that reminds us how often women’s achievements have been left out of America’s history. The mission of the National Women’s History Project comprises five powerful words: Writing Women Back Into History. After a year in which Senate Republicans silenced Democratic Senator Elizabeth Warren in mid-speech criticizing the nomination of Jeffrey Sessions for Attorney General, this year’s theme is appropriately: Nevertheless, she persisted.

The National Women’s History Project is dedicated to honoring women who fight all forms of discrimination against women. The fifteen honorees for 2018 come from all races, nationalities, religions, and occupations. Three of these outstanding women are being recognized posthumously.

  • Susan Burton
  • Margaret Dunkle
  • Geraldine Ferraro (1935-2011)
  • Roma Guy
  • Saru Jayarman
  • Cristina Jiménez
  • Marty Langelan
  • Pat Maginnis
  • Arlene Mayerson
  • Jill Moss Greenberg
  • Pauli Murray (1910-1985)
  • Elizabeth Peratrovich (Kaaxal-gat) (1911-1958)
  • Loretta J. Ross
  • Angelica Salas
  • Linda Spoonster Schwartz

These women have shaped America’s history and its future through their tireless commitment to ending discrimination against women and girls in all realms of life. From spearheading legislation against segregation to leading the reproductive justice movement, these 2018 honorees are dismantling the structural, cultural, and legal forms of discrimination that for too long have plagued American women and those around the world.

Leave a comment below if you have any thoughts or questions!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.